Thriving Amidst the Changing Landscape of Education

IACTE Spring Conference March 25-26, 2024

Location:

FFA Enrichment Center 1055 SW Prairie Trail Pkwy Ankeny, Iowa 50023



Pre-Conference Events				
8:30AM-12:30 PM	Executive Board Meeting & Luncheon			
	- Room 108			
12:30 - 1:00 PM	Conference Registration			
	- Lobby of FFA Enrichment Center			
Conference Sessions	- Conference Room 106			
1:00 - 1:15 PM	Welcome and Introductions	 Dawn Behan, IACTE President, Mount Mercon University Patsy Steffen, IACTE Executive Committee, DMACC 		
		 Mark Stupka, IACTE Conference Co-Chair, Faith Baptist Bible College Marty Herron, Executive Vice President, Fait Baptist Bible College - Host Institution 		
1:15 – 2:15 PM	Keynote Address: Preparing Teachers to Meet Today's Challenges	Dr. Brad Buck – Superintendent, Waukee Community Schools		
2:15 – 3:00 PM	Building Awareness of Teacher Shortages in Iowa / Rural Schools	Lisa Remy – School Administrators of Iowa		
3:00 – 3:15 PM	Break			
3:15 – 4:00 PM	MCEE – Ethics Updates	 Larry Bice, Iowa State University Nadene Davidson, Emeritus, University of Northern Iowa Jeff Haverland, University of Dubuque Kris Mickelson, Morningside University Papae Wymore, William Penn University 		
4:00 – 5:00 PM	Breakout Sessions / 45 minute session with share-out afterwards	 Encouraging HS Students to Teach – Dream to Teach Program – Jill Dykstra, Des Moines Public Schools Literacy Group – Lindsay Grow, Associate Professor, Grand View University Ungroup – Angela Hunter, Director of Teacher Education Programs, Buena Vista University 		

		•	Al Updates – Robb Beane, Assistant Professor, William Penn University State Reciprocity: New Federal Legislation - Jeffrey Haverland, IACTE Executive Committee, University of Dubuque and Dana Osward, William Penn University
5:00 – 5:15 PM	Announcements and Closing for the Day	•	Dawn Behan, IACTE President

Tuesday, March 26th

8:00 - 8:45 AM	Continental Breakfast & Tuesday - Lobby of FFA Enrichment Center	_
Conference Sessions	- Conference Room 106	
8:45 - 9:00 AM	Welcome & Introductions	 Dawn Behan, IACTE President, Mount Mercy University Jennifer Lynn Rasmussen, Education Department Chair, Mount Mercy University Jodi Grover, IACTE Conference Co-Chair, Upper Iowa University
9:00-10:00 AM	Keynote Address	 Krystal Colbert, IA Teacher of the Year 2023-24, SE Polk Community Schools
10:00-10:15 AM	Break	
10:15-11:30 AM	Discussion Panel – Preparing Preservice Teachers for Current Challenges in Iowa Schools	 Mike Beranek – President, Iowa State Education Association Brad Buck – Superintendent, Waukee Community Schools Krystal Colbert – IA Teacher of the Year, SE Polk Community Schools Terry Gladfelter – Executive Director, Professional Educators of Iowa Robert Olson – Superintendent, Gilmore City-Bradgate and West Bend-Mallard Schools Ashley Skinner -2023 Herzog Foundation Teacher of the Year, Grand View Christian School Pam Vogel – Co-Director of Advocacy, Iowa Association of Supervision and Curriculum Development
11:30 – 11:45 AM	Break	
11:45 AM – 12:15 PM	Literacy Panel	 Panel Coordinator: Lindsay Grow – Associate Professor, Grand View University Matt Cretsinger, Director of Special Services, Marshalltown Justin Jeffs, Principal, Mitchell Elementary, Ames

		 Michelle Morse, Superintendent, Bettendorf
		 Rhonda Nelson, Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment Coordinator, Bettendorf
		 Travis Wilkins, Executive Director of
		Teaching and Learning and
		Communications, ADM Community School District
12:15 – 1:00 PM	Lunch & Networking	School District
1:00 - 1:30 PM	IACTE Large Group Business	Dawn Behan, IACTE President
	Meeting / Awards & Retirees	Angela Hunter, IACTE President-Elect
4.20. 2.20.014	La December 1 (El cultur	- M. W
1:30 – 2:30 PM	Iowa Department of Education Presentations	McKenzie Snow - Director, Iowa Department of Education
	FIESEIIIations	Department of EducationJoanne Tubbs - Administrative
		Consultant, Iowa Department of
		Education, Bureau of Educational
		Examiners
		Maryam Rod Szabo - Administrative
		Consultant, Iowa Department of
		Education, Educator Quality
		 Stephanie TeKippe - Education Program
		Consultant, Iowa Department of
		Education, Educator Quality
2:30 - 2:45 PM	Next Steps and Closing	 Mark Stupka, IACTE Conference Co-Chair
	_	 Dawn Behan, IACTE President
	2024 Conference Survey:	 Angela Hunter, IACTE President-Elect
	https://forms.gle/CBaJ2szfWisuocXb9	

Upcoming Important Dates:

June 3-5, 2024 - AACTE Washington Week
June 18-20, 2024 - AACTE Leadership Academy, Cleveland, Ohio
Fall 2024 - Fall IACTE Virtual Conference, dates TBD
Fall 2024 - Midwest AACTE Leaders Academy, dates TBD
January 23, 2025 (Thurs.) - IACTE Day at the Iowa Capitol
February 21-23, 2025 - AACTE Annual Meeting, Long Beach, California

Thank you to Faith Baptist Bible College and Mount Mercy University for sponsoring our spring conference!



